visitingportugal lisbon holiday rentals

Guest Reviews - Lisbon Holiday Apartments & Vacation Homes

CASA VILLA SERRA
3 Bedroom
Luxury Lisbon Townhome
180º views over Lisbon
(sleeps 2-6)
Lisbon Vacation Home
from 210€/nite
CASA JOAQUINA
2 Bedroom
Historic Lisbon Townhome
Game room & Terrace
(sleeps 2-6)
Lisbon Vacation Home
from 140€/nite
CASA P?TRIA
2 Bedroom
Historic Lisbon Townhome
Private Garden Terrace
(sleeps 2-5)
Lisbon Vacation Home
no longer available
CASA SANTANA
1 Bedroom
Lisbon View Apartment
Views over Rossio
(sleeps 2-4)
Holiday Apartment
from 95€/nite
CASA TRAVESSA
1 Bedroom
Lisbon Apartment
Private Entrance
(sleeps 2-4)
Holiday Apartment
no longer available
BOOK NOW

SEARCH BY YOUR
TRAVEL DATES

Return to Home Page

VisitingPortugal Combined Guestbook: December 2003- December 2013

    VisitingPortugal's Guest Reviews on TripAdvisor/Flipkey

FlipKey

For further reviews, please see our Flipkey front desk or VRBO reviews:

FlipKey

HomeAway Property
Read or Write Reviews

    VisitingPortugal's Lisbon Holiday Rental Guestbooks

    August 2013 (Casa Villa Serra)
    This adventure was awesome! Meire
    Thanks for a great stay, we enjoyed it a lot :) Nike
    + Britta, Andreas & Torben

    1-5 May 2013 (Casa Villa Serra)
    Dear Austin & family,
    My initial arrival in Lisbon was a difficult one. The first thing we saw was the inside of a Portuguese hospital. Despite being a foreigner, they took good care of me.
    Arriving at this beautiful home was a Godsend. Yoy were so kind to help my sister and son with our luggage and I was relieved that I did not have to worry about a thing.
    We enjoyed every moment of our stay here (despite being ill) and thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
    This house is everything you said it would be.
    Nancy, Guy & Dylan Birdsal + Susan Haller, New York & Boston, MA

    28 April - 5 may 213 (Casa Santana)
    An eventful week of many Ups and downs--not just amongst the hills of Lisbon! Too many stories to tell here--many more words and pictures at Autmn Cottage Diarist, still at www.rozcrawley.typepad.com
    Outstanding ... ... To the Quinta da Regaleira at Sintra--if you are a gardener this is a must to wander around.
    Farewell once again Lisboa, and thank you so much Jordan+Deb+Austin.
    Roz+Alec Crawley xxx

    7-12 April, 2013 (Casa Villa Serra)
    What a great place! Lovely city and a surprise around every corner. The house was perfect in every way and the views breathtaking. Thank you for everything.
    Jo, Andrew, Jude, Sol + Casper

    April 2013 (Casa Santana)
    We had a fantastic time in Lisbon this week! This was our first visit to Portugal and we loved wlevery minute of it. Thank you for your beautiful apartment. It really felt like home to us.
    Kathy + Bob, Eugene OR

    29-24 Feb 2013 (Casa Villa Serra)
    Alice, Aileen, Kathryn and Kat say thank you for your fabulous flat! Despite the stormy weather, we dogwd the rain and loved our time here!
    Thank you <3 :)

    5a-10a November 2012 (Casa Santana)
    Dear Jordan &Deb,
    Thank you so much for a great week. The facilities here really met our every need and the location was so convenient.
    The introductory tour from Jordan was sp helpful in getting our beatings and we took you up on many of your excellent recommendations (Sintra, pastel de nata, ginjinha, etc.)
    As per previous comments the facilities & service really go above and beyond expectations -- truely 5-star. Would/will recommend to others looking to stay in Lisbon.
    David & Maria, London

    29 Oct - 3 Nov (Casa Villa Serra)
    Image coming soon...

    20th - 27th October, 2012 (Casa Villa Serra)
    We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Lisbon. Some of the highlights of the holiday were visiting Pena Palace in Sintra, eating a custard pastry in Bele. And dining at Cafe Buenos Aires on the stairs. You cannot miss out on trying a traditional ginjinha from one of the small shops or experiencing a true Lisbon specialty--Fado!
    Thank you, The Dunne family, Leicestershire, England/ Glasgow, Scotland

    14-21 October 2012 (Casa Santana)
    Dear Deb & Jordan,
    I have loved every minute in my Lisbon home! The location is perfect & I felt right at home immediately with Jordan to welcome me & the really helpful orientation tour.
    The weather was mostly perfect too--especially for day trips to Cascais & Sintra. And I will always remember the day I had eights (yes, eight!) custard tarts in Belem! I don't dare eat another as nothing will be able to top those ones.
    I hope my remaining 3 weeks in Portugal are just as memorable. Thanks for giving me such a fantastic start.
    Kind regards, Karyn, Melbourne, Australia

    8-19 October 2012 (Casa Villa Serra)
    Thanks for your warm welcome! Casa Villa Serra is amazing, we enjoyed our stay here in Lisbon very much.
    Everything in Casa Villa Serra was perfect!
    Thank you!
    Britta, Raimund, Madita, Jolina, Julius, Johan and Vincent (Nieby, Germany)

    21 September 2012 (Casa Santana)
    What a great place to stay! Thanks so much for the neighbourhood intro tour--it was so nice to know where to get fruit, where to have a local supper and where to get some seriously delicious grilled chicken.
    Cafe Buenos Aires was a perfect place for a last dinner: a great recommendation. And we'll have to come again to do justice to Fragoreto's ice creams...
    Tina & Michael, London

    (Casa Villa Serra)
    We had a lovely stay
    Magda, Corrie, Maortje, Jeanne (4 sisters)

    (Casa Villa Serra)
    Beautiful country, city & house. Fantastic facilities. We cannot recommend this highly enough. Anton & Susannah
    Manchester, UK

    (Casa Villa Serra)
    It is not easy to say goodbye to Casa Villa Serra--on a beautiful evening with the ever-present cool breeze. We loved Lisbon and the house exceeded all our expectations! You have anticipated all of our needs and desires so wonderfully--Your personal touch has added much to our stay here. We will recommend this stay to all of our friends.
    Our dinner tonight in the Brazilian restaurant down the street was delicious! Hope the owners have a long and successful business in the neighbourhood.
    Our thanks and warm appreciation.
    Judy + Darrell Cruder
    Princeton, New Jersey

    Wednesday 7th of August 2012 (Casa Villa Serra)
    Jordan + Deb... What a privilege it was to stay in your beautiful #9! We loved being a part of your "neighbourhood" for these much too few days in Lisbon! Thank you for making us feel so welcome and for all the special touches you provided us! ...the wine on your patio overlooking this amazing city and the "tour"! It will be fun to go home and tell our mutual friends Kurt and Dele how much we enjoyed ourselves! We wish you well inall your endevours here and hope we can return some day! Maybe we'll see you in Washington state! Muito, muito obrigado!
    Marianne & Ron Grade
    Spokane, Washington

    July 2012 (Casa Santana)
    Deb & Jordan,
    Thank you very much for a wonderful stay in your great apartment--great city, perfect weather, wonderful apartment, what more could one ask for?
    Will be back for sure if we make it back to Lisbon.
    See the ... & keep up the hospitality,
    Justin, Claire & Sebastian, Hamburg, Germany + Taipei, Taiwan

    3rd July 2012 (Casa Santana)
    Dear Jordan and Deb,
    Thank you so much for the use of your beautiful apartment--it was the perfect base for our adventures in Lisbon. Our top tips for other adventurers in this amazing city:
    1 wandering around the Alfama and the castle
    2 Discovering Bairro Alto at night
    3 dinner at various amazing restaurants--the roast chicken place, the local cafes, and (our favourite) the seafood restaurant across the river by ferry.
    4 surfing and paddle boarding with Luis in Cascais--amazing day!
    5 Belem and pastries!
    6 Ginjinha--best from chocolate cups!
    We've had a great time--thank you!
    I echo all of the above! City exploration partnered with a bit of beach fun with paddle boarding was the perfect combination.
    Lisbon is lovely, this flat has been a great place to explore it from. Thank you.
    Kate, Rhian, Ellie, Bristol, UK :)

    May 27, 2012 (Casa Santana)
    "Home is where the heart is."
    And in Lisbon, our hearts are at Casa Santana!
    We direct our Lisbon-bound friends directly to where our hearts are... Thanks to the true hospitality of Jordan &Deb Kleber
    Mark & Nilda ...

    22 April, 2012 (Casa Santana)
    Dear Jordan & Debbie,
    We were so lucky to have the recommendation of Casa Santana. The apartment is perfectly located and your hospitality is wonderful.
    We have loved our stay in Lisbon--both the neighbourhood here and the city. Thank you both so much. We will also be recommending you to our friends & we hope to come back.
    With best wishes,
    Jenny & David

    March 19, 2012 (Casa Santana)
    Last night here at "home"!
    The apartment was all we expected and more -- wonderful, central location too. So enjoyed cooking several dinners after shopping in the local markets. The apartment has wonderful views and so much sunshine--a real plus for me coming from Portland, OR--going back to rain + snow. Thanks for a great week in Lisbon.
    Connie Chapman

    February 16, 2012 (Casa Santana)
    This was a great experience. We could not be happier that we stayed at your place.
    A Ginjinha stand nearby was an additional bonus!
    Thank you for your hospitality and help!
    Milena + Andrew Mokhov
    Redondo Beach, CA/ London, UK
    PS. Our kids loved the place too! And they are hard to please characters...

    21 November, 2011 (Casa Santana)
    Thank you for such a safe + comfortable base from which to explore your beautiful city. We look forward to visiting again. Be sure to drop us a line when you're back in SEATTLE!
    Sarah + Amir

    03/11/07 (Casa Santana) Thank you for making my operatic debut at Teatro So Carlos here in Lisbon such a happy experience! When you spend nearly all your life in different apartments in different countries as I do, it is a REAL JOY to find a gem like Casa Santana. Every day I left for rehearsals and performances feeling uplifted by the views, the sounds, the smells -- and in the last week, the SUN!! Your thoughtfulness in the way you welcome your guests is wonderful, and the apartment has every amenity required to make a real (if temporary) home! I shall be returning to complete the Ring Cycle here in Lisbon over the next two years and shall most definitely book an apartment through you -- and recommend you to my colleagues! Many thanks and very best wishes.
    Susan Bullock
    London

    02/15/07 (Casa Ptria) Dear Deb and Jordan - What a difference a "landing pad" can make to one's holiday! Thank you for making it possible that we land in a foreign city in such comfort and in such a superb location. We wish you all well with your future guests and endeavors, and hope that our paths may cross again.
    Rachel, John, Sonnet and Hannah
    Munich, Germany

    02/15/07 (Casa Ptria) Dear Jordan and Drex - Thank you VERY much for having us stay. Thank you, also, for the wonderful books. I will enjoy long hours of reading.
    Sonnet R. Phelps
    Munich

    01/04/07 (Casa Joaquina) Dear Deb - The house is well equipped and a perfect location -- even in winter! We enjoyed our stay a lot.
    Camille and family
    Cologne, Germany

    12/30/06 (Casa Joaquina) Dear Deb - Thank you! We had a wonderful time in your house. It's clear that you've put lots of thought into making it very workable -- we have 2 17 year old sons and a 22 year old, and it worked for them, too. We cooked wonderful meals, had a great time with Diogo, and traveled the city and Sintra. Thanks for everything.
    Nancy Baran, John Wagner & family
    Princeton, NJ, USA

    12/23/06 (Casa Ptria) Deb and Jordan - Thank you so much for your gracious hospitality. Your homes are lovely. We have many wonderful memories from this trip. We even got to enjoy the steps. The cooking class was wonderful and we enjoyed the trip to the market and grocery stores. Best wishes to you both and when we come back we will call to stay again. Fondly,
    Tony and Fran DiSanti
    Erie, PA, USA

    12/22/06 (Casa Travessa & Casa Santana) We've had a wonderful return visit to Lisbon after sixteen years, here at Casa Travessa with our daugher and son-in-law at Casa Santana. Highlights were the great cheeses, and wines from the Douro region and our dinner and fado night with Diogo. (Bacalhau de Molho, www.casadelinhares.com, and Clube de Fado, www.clube-de-fado.com). Bom Jardin chicken was great for take-out and Christmas day dinner at Gambrinus was wonderful. Cervejaria Marisqueira (behind the church) had good food but terrible service and mistakes on the bill. Casa Travessa was a delight as "home." We'd like to stay longer but off to Dublins rain for a week before going home to HornbyIsland, British Columbia, Canada.
    Kathi Innman & Bob Cain, www.rcainphoto.com
    ps-the 'ugly' ducks are Muscovy's and are South American Tree ducks, not really ducks -- they can fly and climb!
    Hornby Island, BC, Canada

    11/27/06 (Casa Joaquina) Many thanks for such a wonderful location and delightful casa from which to explore Lisbon! We enjoyed the people and places--Lisbon is indeed very special.
    Nancy Williams and Bob Schramm
    Wash DC, USA

    11/22/06 (Casa Travessa) Thank you, Jordan and Deb. Casa Travessa is so cozy, so close to Lisbon's downtown. We enjoyed our stay very, very much.
    Steve and Pat Mosely
    Guimares, Portugal

    11/09/06 (Casa Joaquina, Casa Ptria, Casa Santana and Casa Travessa; though not all at the same time) Dear Deb - Thanks very much for everything. As always, it was perfect. CU again soon.
    Declan, UK
    * first to stay at all 4 places *

    10/26/06 (Casa Santana) We celebrated my 80th birthday in beautiful Lisbon. What a great city and a great decision. Our daughter, Peggy, who resides in Paris, planned this trip and this apartment for us. It has a wonderful view, across the roofs of the city, with a good glimpse of the "largest Christmas tree in the world" and the large silver bell.

    Though we were hampered by rain on our second day, also sporadic showers on other times, we prevailed, visiting Sintra and Belm. We loved Belm, on a sunny day -- the monastery was awesome and the Explorer's memorial taught us about the navigators' gifts to bring the known world together.

    We came home to view the turning on of Christmas lights and fireworks that commemorated my birthday! The people we met and the food we enjoyed were all A-1. We would love to return.

    PS-All of the furnishings here are most attractive and "first class."
    Joan and Pat Brannigan
    Wadsworth, OH, USA

    10/26/06 (Casa Travessa) We had a magical weekend here, despite some rainy moments. The apartments were clean and cozy and beautifully decorated. Deb's hospitality was terrific. Obrigada! Thank you for an excellent stay!
    The Smiths, Shannon
    Paris, France

    10/21/06 (Casa Santana) Thank you very much for your helpfulness--your kind reception--your good advice regarding restaurants and more--and not least for taking the time to come to the apartment when Lufthansa arrived with our lost suitcase.

    We have been around a lot every day--seen many wonderful views, experienced so many things (among others to be kissed by a sea lion in the zoo--never tried that before!!), and still we could have used a few more days to see more of this lovely city.

    We have really enjoyed our week here in Lisbon. Casa Santana is a nice and cosy place to stay, and we will certainly recommend it to future Lisbon-travellers. All the best,
    Sofie, Katrine, Henrik & Anne
    Denmark

    10/20/06 (Casa Ptria) Deb & Jordan, Thanks for being wonderful hosts to us, we had a great time during our first stay in Portugal. We really appreciate all of your great suggestions and the walking tour at check-in--made such a difference in our stay! Thanks too for your help with scouting a gym for Ed--he wouldn't have had a very good vacation without it! All the best, & thank you again!
    Chad & Ed
    San Francisco, CA, USA

    10/19/06 (Casa Travessa) Lisbon is a wonderful place to visit. It's relaxed and has lots of things to visit. The pasteis are delicious, especially at Belm. Thanks Deb for your hospitality. Casa Travessa was wonderful to stay. My wife liked the dishwasher the most, the kids, too. Casa Travessa had everything you needed. Best Regards,
    Rob, Jan, Annelies, Fleur
    Rucphen, the Netherlands

    10/15/06 (Casa Joaquina) Your house is fabulous -- all the amenities and SO organized -- and a perfect location. We've had a short but lovely stay. Wonderful! Thank you for all the "goodies" you had waiting for us -- We loved the wine and that cheese! Our best to you.
    Signe, LA, Calif; Ingrid, CO; Edilla, Brazil, Rio; Rima and Akhalia, Berkley, Calif
    USA and Brazil

    10/06/06 (Casa Travessa) What a terrific time I had. Lisboa is everything I remembered it to be. I just love it here. The food, wine, people, sights. She has it all. Casa Travessa is the perfect spot from which to discover all Lisboa has to offer. Thank you Deb for making us so comfortable. At breve se Deus quiser.
    Kate Vieira
    Sarasota, FL

    09/24/06 (Casa Santana) Dear Deb and Jord - We absolutely LOVED our stay in Lisbon! The apartment was perfect for our needs. Although we are admittedly tourists, it felt as if we had our very own little apartment in the Rossio. The neighborhood is terrific -- centrally located, ample access to transporation, fine dining, sidewalk cafes and that "local feeling" when taking an evening stroll after a good meal. Off to the Algarve! Thanks again.
    p.s.-And by the way -- I am an American of Portuguese descent and I NOW understand why I drive the way that I do. It's genetic and not my fault. I'm so relieved.. REALLY I thought I had a serious problem. I can now quit therapy (I think). Somebody say, "WOO HOO0!" I should-a come to Portugal sooner. :)
    Jeff and Brian
    San Francisco, CA, USA

    09/18/06 (Casa Santana) Thanks again. Wonderful views. Hope to be back again soon.
    Geoff & Liz (repeat visitors)
    Newcastle, UK

    09/18/06 (Casa Travessa) A big city in every way. I felt a bit like a Liliputian against the massive monuments. Great place to stay--in the middle of everything--but a haven of tranquility. David

    And, from Gill, who originally stayed with us in Sept 2005 to attend a work conference: "A pleasant haven for a holiday too!"
    David and Gill Lawrence
    UK

    09/16/06 Casa Joaquina is perfectly located above the hustle & bustle but yet only 187 steps away from it all. We enjoyed our time here and it was everything promised. Thank you for your attention to details from the complimentary Welcome basket to the "starter" funicular passes. A real blessing! We look forward to coming back.
    Debbie and Wayne Moloznik
    USA

    09/16/06 (Casa Joaquina) We loved the apartment. It was perfect for spending quality time with our dear friends. The location of "Casa Joquina" is just right, in the middle of the mix and also one step apart to enjoy the quiet. Lisbon is a special city, thank you for the opportunity to experience it. Sincerely,
    Kathy and Guy Crane
    USA

    09/09/06 (Casa Ptria) Cara Deb, ti ringraziamo per la piacevole accoglienza nella tua deliziosa casa. Lisbona bellissima. Grazie ancora di tutto!!!
    Federico, Francisca, Fabrizio, Renata
    Napoli, Italia

    08/18/06 (Casa Travessa) John and I have had a wonderful time -- relaxing and comfortable. Thank you for everything! We will come again and bring our family. Best wishes.
    Jane Filsell
    Wales

    08/16/06 (Casa Santana) Dear Deb - We had a wonderful time at your place. It is truely a home away from home. We are very comfortable here, not only can we relax physically but also mentally with all the high tech tools you provided. We are so surprised to find Skype on the computer so that we can follow up with our business from afar. This really set our minds at ease. We will for sure recommend your place to anyone who will visit Lisbon.
    Jean and Tony
    California

    08/15/06 (Casa Santana) Un panorama che si dovrebbe pagare un biglietto per goderlo. unaccoglienza che neanche un parente. Una serie di informazioni per capire meglio lisbona che neanche un lisboneta. "Agora partimos, e de j saudade." Grazie per tutto questo alla padrona di casa, Deb.
    Agostino & Quian
    Roma, Italia

    08/07/06 (Casa Santana) Incredible - this has been a very befitting end to our 2.5 month odyssey. Of all the countries we experienced, Portugal felt the most real. No doubt this spectacular flat added immensely to feeling so connected. Obrigado and Adeus.
    Peter Gilbert
    San Diego, CA

    08/07/06 (Casa Travessa) Amazing hosts! Great apartment, cozy and incredibly comfy. Thanks!
    Monica, Carlos Lucas
    USA

    08/06/06 (Casa Ptria) Deb and Jordan - Thank you for providing us with such a well organized and beautiful home for our stay in Lisbon. We can't wait to recommend it to our friends. Thank you!
    Greg, Blair, Erin, Casey Harless
    USA

    07/31/06 (Casa Santana) How fortunate we were that our search brought us to VisitingPortugal and Deb. The apartment is perfect, so much so that we set up our own restaurant "with a view" on our last night; eating in front of the window, recollecting our third but best visit to Lisbon. The ginginha was addictive, but who cares. Thank you -- we wish you nothing but success, you've created a wonderful environment in a beautiful city.
    Miriam & David Wilson
    Berkely, CA

    07/26/06 (Casa Joaquina) Dear Deb - Thanks for your hospitality. Casa Joaquina could not have been better -- all the comforts of home with the flavor of Lisboa! This is our 4th place on this extended trip -- after Barcelona, Venice and Tuscany -- and we are astounded by your attention to detail and amenities. A great house in a great city! Loved the terrace and BBQ -- beware the flying umbrella though! Thanks again!
    Peter Cobb and family
    Montreal, Canada

    07/23/06 (Casa Ptria) Dear Deb & Jordan - We had a wonderful time in Lisboa and in Casa Ptria! Thank you very much!
    Gerard, Femlie, Bas, Maareten, Ma
    Netherlands

    07/22/06 (Casa Joaquina) Dear Deb & Jordan, thank you for all your help and all your ideas -- we felt very welcome in Lisbon -- thanks to you, your lovely house and the friendly Portuguese people all around. We almost lived as true derrasse which we loved morning and night -- late night dinners with candles and card playing just before bedtime for the smallest... We walked and walked -- enjoyed every area-- from Alfama to Parque das Naes. We loved our oasis and that we found everything we needed.
    Lance, Kia, etal
    Denmark

    07/22/06 (Casa Travessa) Great place from which to explore Lisbon and to concentrate on our intensive Portuguese classes. Many thanks!
    Francesca Erdelman & Jarrel van B
    Maputo, Mozambique

    07/18/06 (Casa Santana) Jord, Deb and Drex - We thoroughly enjoyed Casa Santana and your great hospitality. Lisbon is fantastic to explore. The castle was a fun excursion as was our opportunity to hear Augusto Pinho, the "Perry Como" of Portugal. The view at night is superb, as was the food at Cafe Tijelinha, the Italian place on Restaurant Alley, and the late night "take away" we grabbed at the Nepalese place down the street. Sintra is a "can't miss". Agada das Caves for a cerveja and up the mountain we went. Views were jaw-dropping. Also enjoyed Cabo de Roca, stunning bus ride from Sintra to Cascais. Great day trip! The apartment has it all, great location. We will miss you, so we'll surely return.
    Reed, Lori, Jord, Matthew
    North Carolina

    07/17/06 (Casa Ptria) Deb & Jordan - We had a great stay. The house is perfect -- the location could not be better and from the outside, no one would guess that the interior is so imaginateively set-out. Even better than we expected. EVERYTHING we needed was provided. We struggled with the heat (37C a bit much for exploring the city, but we did our best) and the air-conditioner saved our lives. Thanks for all your advice, attention to detail and tour of the neighbourhood upon arrival. Best bits: air conditioning, Casa Nova restaurant near Santa Apolnia station, Debs CD collection, Aquarium at Expo site, very friendly people of Lisbon, dinner on the terrace.
    Julie, Ian, William and Ellie ,
    Guildford, UK

    07/16/06 (Casa Ptria) Thanks Deb & Jordan for a wonderful introduction to Lisbon. We won't easily forget our arrival, rolling our luggage around the corner of Rua Joaquina to fetch up in the middle of a jubilant street party transfixed by the final minutes of the penalty shootout in the World Cup quarterfinal between Portugal and England. The rest of our stay was as enjoyable, thanks to your thoughtfulness and care. From your emailed Portugese language instructions for the taxi driver to your walking tour of the neighborhood, you made everything as simple and enjoyable as possible. Thanks again,
    Annamarie & Lee
    Auckland, NZ

    07/12/06 (Casa Ptria) Deb & Jordan - CP is amazing but you two are even more amazing! The way you have organized to make our short stay in Lisbon so memorable is greatly appreciated. Here's our list of what we loved:
    1. The peace & security we felt at Casa Ptria
    2. Great location
    3. Your book - a Bible! - to keep us on the right track with the places for visiting. You made it impossible to get lost and helped us organize our time.
    4. The knowledge you are only a phone call away.
    5. Vinho Verde
    6. Your book selection - especially C.S. Lewis
    7. Your orientation tour was *SO* helpful
    8. The thoughtful food items and the cleaniness of everything
    9. And last but not least. Deb - you are the absolute best at handling angry cab drivers!!! Will never foget it - especially since Wes got it all on his camera!
    I know we will meet again - hope to visit Lisbon again someday. Please use us as references. THANKS.
    Wes and Ruth Smith and family
    Arizona, USA

    07/11/06 (Casa Joaquina) Our taxi ride was quite an experience, but your help was greatly appreciated. Our walking tour gave us enough coverage to venture out into the city and even get on the metro and train all the way to Sintra. We will never forget all "188 stairs". Watching the finals of the World Cup in a city where football is truely appreciated. Our family had an amazing time in the shops and all of the activites that we did in jst 3 short days. This is a place we would like to return to someday.
    Alex, Patty, Brittany, AJ Romero
    Phoenix, AZ

    07/03/06 (Casa Joaquina) Dear Deb and Jordan, Thank you for welcoming our daughters when we were delayed. You helped to ease an uncomfortable situation. The house is lovely. We especially liked the rooftop garden and grill. Best of all for us, we were here for the amazing block party in honor of Portugal's play off status in the World Cup games. Your neighbors are welcoming and special people. Thanks to you -- and them -- we had a taste of Lisbon the way residents experience it.
    Ellen, Vince, Sarah, Lis
    Portsmouth, NH

    06/24/06 (Casa Joaquina) We are disappointed. The house is well situated and well equipped but nobody telled us that we would sleep in an underground room with mould on the wall, that the bathroom has no ventilation system and none of the rooms would have daylight and view outside. If we would have known all that we would have booked another house.
    Ute
    Germany
    This guest sent several emails afterwards, including one that she told me to post here; I have not, however, due to its crude language... suffice to say she did not like Casa Joaquina at all and completely missed our emphasis on 'historic homes' (eg, thick stone walls with deep-set windows; please see our FAQs for more details). Although she seemed to accept that neither we -- nor the guests who arrived hours after she left -- could find mold on any walls, her main complaints are that the architecture of the house is highly unpleasant and we are doing a great disservice to people by renting it. We knew we would never be able to please everyone and have tried to learn from this experience but, at the very least, it is finally obvious that we include all guestbook comments here, whether positive or negative :) debk

    06/19/06 (Casa Santana) Dear Deb, Thank you for facilitating our visit to Lisbon. The apartment, its location and Lisbon are fantastic. But it has been your thoughtlfulness and dedication which has made our stay really special. Our favorite spot to date!!
    The Hackney Family
    Sydney, Australia

    06/12/06 (Casa Travessa) We can truly say that Casa Travessa is exactly the way it is portrayed on the Visiting Portugal website. For all those who have doubts, please be assured that your fears will be laid to rest as mine were. Despite the readings, we weren't sure what to expect once we arrived in Portugal, yet within a few hours of arrival our thoughts and ideas were more than what we ever expected. The hospitality of Deb and Jordan really made our visit a memorable one. Thank you so much, we will definitely be back in the future. Agape,
    Dr. Edmund and Deborah Barker
    Louisiana, USA

    06/07/06 (Casa Joaquina and Casa Patria) Our accommodations could not have been any more perfect. Thank you from all of us for your mini-tour which was most helpful. We've had great food, fun shopping and spending euros. Lisbon is a beautiful city and we all hope to return again one day. Your efforts to make us comfortable are greatly appreciated: Brilliant Casa, Brilliant Lisbon, Sad to Leave, Happy to Return.
    Katie Santos and family
    USA

    05/29/06 (Casa Patria) Hi, Deb - We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your apphouse. Imagine finding a jewel like this on the internet. Lisboa is amazing and this neighbourhood is friendly. It was nice being met with chilled wine and friendly advice. The terrrace -- a long time dream was hotter than we'd imagined, we have had around +30 each day. (Ed: Heat wave!) We are ready to share this experience with all our friends. Until we meet again...
    Vigdis and friends
    Skien, Norway

    05/28/06 (Casa Joaquina) Thank you for making our stay in Portugal truly feel like a home away from home. The hard work and effort you put into Casa Joaquina does not go unnoticed! Obrigado!
    Gene Adamson, Nancy Handel & Erin
    USA

    05/27/06 (Casa Santana) Dear Deb - We have had a memorable visit to Lisboa, and this is much due to our staying at your lovely Casa Santana with its perfect location and lovely views. Your restaurant recommendations were right on and our Fado evening at Adega do Ribatejo was one of the highlights of the trip. Thank you for your hospitality.
    Nancy, Jody and Susan
    Portland, OR, USA

    05/16/06 (Casa Ptria and Casa Joaquina) Deb - Thank you! We had a fantastic time in Lisbon -- much due to your time and attention to your guests. We are glad to have had the fortune of experiencing both homes, Casa "Jo" and Casa Ptria. We will recommend your casas to our traveling friends.
    Trish and Jack
    Tampa, FL

    05/13/06 (Casa Patria) Deb, Thank you... your home is wonderful and has everything one would want or need. Our only complaint: we weren't able to stay long enough! Your attention to detail, both before and on arrival was much appreciated. We will definitely recommend your homes to our friends and family. Thanks again.
    Heinz and Trixie
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    05/08/06 (Casa Patria) Dear Deb, We have just arrived back in Australia and I wanted to thank you for our great stay in the lovely Casa Patria. It was so comfortable after the hotel style accommodation wed had in Paris and your help and advice was fantastic. Everything we could have possibly needed or needed to know was supplied, it certainly improved our stay in Lisbon and helped us to make the most of our time there. Cheers.
    Melissa and Troy Smith
    Australia

    05/05/06 (Casa Joaquina) Thanks, Deb!! Our stay at Casa Joaquina was very enjoyable and relaxing. We were in walking distance of all our needs. It is a nice place to come home to.
    Bev and Ed Peters, Steve and Loretta Tayler
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    05/03/06 (Casa Santana) Dear Deb & Jordan - Never have we felt so much in a "home from home" as we have this week in Casa Santana. The only thing that has contradicted this feeling has been the utterly stunning view from the window -- as we live in the English countryside the view could not have been more different than that at home! It made our mouths drop open from the first walking in and has continued to do so each time we enter the sitting room.

    We would like to compliment you particularly on the sympathetic and high quality of conversion of the apartment. You have lost none of the character of this wonderful old house in this delightful neighborhood.

    FUTURE VISITORS: Before venturing further afield, walk the streets on your doorstep to meet the true character and characters of Lisboa. We have also had some of our best meals in the restaurants that are literally "just around the corner."

    The mod cons of the Internet access and the doubleglazing were also, however, greatly appreciated! As I run several mail lists and writing workshops on the Internet, I have been able to share my visit here with friends across the globe "as it happens." Expect more enquiries, as we will continue to spread the word of how tremendously enjoyable a week in Casa Santana can be. Thank you!
    Roz and Alec Crawley
    Newbury, UK
    View Roz's pictures and insightful write-up about their stay at Casa Santana:
    Home Again, Home Again

    04/29/06 (Casa Joaquina) This is a perfect place for an enjoyable stay in a delicious city. Thanks for your care and for the attention to detail, which made our stay so comfortable.
    Philip, Liticia, Jon, Vera, Fritz
    Switzerland and Holland

    04/22/06 (Casa Joaquina) Deb! This has been wonderful, thanks to your organizational skills and the great tour of the neighborhood when we arrived. We were able to hit the ground running and enjoy every minute. We would definitely come back again! Caroll Williams

    Jenny and I loved staying here and loved Lisbon, too! Thanks so much for everything -- green wine, cheese rolls, unique place to stay. Hope to be back! Kay

    What a perfect way to start our visit in Portugal! Muito Bom! Obrigada - Jenny
    Jenny, Kay and Caroll
    South Carolina and California, USA

    04/18/06 (Casa Santana) The view is magnificent. Location is so very convenient to everything and woven so nicely into the city. You have a beautifully modern, bright and comfortable apartment. Thank you for seeing so thoughtfully to every detail to make our visit easy and relaxing.
    The DeSanto Family
    Wilmington, DE

    04/07/06 (Casa Santana) The Taunt family had a wonderful time here in Lisbon and at the apartment! Pinoquios restaurant was a good find, Deb. Thank you. We are off to the Algarve and Spain -- just when we got used to living in Lisbon. The world has so much to offer and so much to see!
    The Taunt Family
    San Luis Obispo, CA

    04/04/06 (Casa Patria) A very cosy and well-furnished home that made us feel welcome. A quiet spot in the middle of a busy town. Lisbon is a very interesting and educating city to visit. Many thanks to Deb for all her care and consideration for her guests. A. Van Praagh

    A lovely house, the bedrooms especially. I slept so well in them. Thanks for showing us around when we came. We've enjoyed many walks here in the short stay. Thank you so much. Ian
    A. Van Praagh and Ian
    London

    03/24/06 (Casa Patria) The five of us are now ready to leave Lissabon to go back to work in Norway. We know it has been snowing for two days there, so it has been extremely wonderful to enjoy the warmth and sun here. This time [Editor Note: These are repeat guests] we have spent a day at the Expo area. We have been walking around, looking at houses, eating good food, having good wine and of course we've been shopping! Thanks for a lovely weekend in Lissabon.
    Marit and friends
    Sandefjord, Norway

    03/24/06 (Casa Travessa) Thank you so much for your warm hospitality. Your personal tour of our "home away from home" neighborhood started things off for us on just the right foot. You were very gracious and we apprecaited your effort to make our six nights in Lisbon most enjoyable. The apartment is in a great location and it had everything we needed. We will certainly recommend Casa Travessa to anyone we know coming to Lisbon.
    Myra and Len
    Silver Springs, MD, USA

    03/19/06 (Casa Santana) We are in our last moments of being in Lisbon -- we fly back to Texas tomorrow. This apartment is wonderful! Thank you for making all the comforts of home available. The "shortcut" worked if my lungs and legs did! (Don't miss Solar do Vinho do Porto, Rua de So Pedro de Alcntara). The tour with "Inside Lisbon" and Hugo was wonderful. We saw the countryside, beaches and people of Portugal. Tips from Deb were perfect! The view each morning was great despite the rain! You made us feel like part of the family! Obrigada!
    Barb, Greg and Anthony Merkle
    Wichita Falls, TX, USA

    03/06/06 (Casa Travessa & Casa Santana) We had an execllent stay here in Casa Travessa. The appartment is great. Next time we bring with us our husbands and our children. Thank you!
    Heidi and friends
    Norway

    02/17/06 (Casa Travessa) A relaxing and enjoyable week with memorable June weather. The apartment is excellent, with many thoughtful touches and the location could not be more convenient. Followed guidebook recommendations for restaurants -- none disappointed and prices very reasonable by UK standards. We will come back soon.
    Neil and Pamela Bailey
    Windsor, UK

    02/17/06 (Casa Santana) Beautiful city, beautiful apartment, great location. Thanks for ALL your help. You made the trip so much MORE. We loved your Fado recommendation and saw many beautiful antique shops thanks to you. Thank you also for loaning us your Rick Steves phrasebook. It has been very helpful. Thanks again.
    Leah and Nancy Farrar
    Colorado, USA

    01/05/06 (Casa Santana) We loved the apt -- views, location and amenities. Spending the holidays here was so much fun for us and we loved getting to know your city while re-connecting with our son who we hadn't seen for six months. Really liked the restaurants you recommended -- tried all of them and had to take in the Hard Rock Caf for our son in the Peace Corps who hadn't seen a hamburger for too long. Thanks for the tips and the lovely apartment, our home away from home.
    Kathy, Bill and Jonah
    Roanoke, VA, USA

    01/04/06 (Casa Patria) A wonderful week in Lissabon - probably the most beautiful town in the world. The fireworks on New Years Eve were, to our surprise, spectacular. If there is time, a trip to Restaurante Porto Brando - a short boat trip from Belm, is a recommendation. The food and the small boat trip is very nice. For a small family, in this flat, just perfect.
    Kjetil and family
    Oslo, Norway

    01/02/06 (Casa Travessa) Buon Anno. Sono la prima a scrivere in italiano su Casa Travessa e forse nessuno mi capir ma bene cos. Forse perch Lisbona mi ha preso ma anche la casa mi sembrata particolare e accogliente, curata ed ha una posizione meravigliosa. Lisbona fantastica e, detta da una che viene da Roma, mi sembra il massimo. Ciao Deb e Jhordan. Arrivederci e grazie.
    Marina
    Roma, Italia

    12/27/05 (Casa Travessa) This is a perfect apartment in a perfect city and Christmas 2005 will be remembered as one of the best. Fortunately, there are plenty of places in Lisbon that we still have to visit and when we come back, the first place we will return to is Casa Travessa. It is so pleasant and very comfortable that a few days is not enough. Thanks for everything.
    Kathryn, Janet, Nina
    UK

    12/18/06 Email from Australia (Casa Joaquina)
    Date: Dec 18, 2005 5:57 AM
    Subject: Visit to Lisbon
    Hi Deb - Not sure if you will remember me from our visit in October. We have just arrived home and I did want to write to you and say how much we enjoyed our stay with you. It was the easiest accommodation to organise, it was the nicest and you were just so fantastic to us with great directions, showing us the layout of Lisbon and the recommendations that you gave to us were all fantastic. It was so nice to have basics in the fridge, copius amounts of crockery and glasses. The computer was also great to have, as it gave us instant access to the world without having to go to an internet cafe. So, many thanks, we will recommend you to all and if we ever come back to Portugal you will be the first person we contact.
    Cheers Bill & Helen
    Australia

    12/10/05 (Casa Travessa) We had a lovely time exploring Lisboa. The weather was perfect and the apartment was a peaceful haven after days of sightseeing. Thank you for all the thoughtful touches. Everything we needed or wished for was here. We really enjoyed being in a neighborhood rather than a hotel. Now we must return to the slush and snow, but we will take happy memories with us.
    John& Sylvia Gardner
    NYC, USA

    11/19/05 Email (Casa Joaquina)
    Hi Deb - Our stay in Lisbon was fantastic largely due to your thoughtful input and organisational skills. When travelling it is rare to come across accommodation with all the home comforts. You have obviously travelled extensively and know all the things people crave when away from home, computer access, fresh local food and wine and spacious clean accommodation. The extra touches like fresh fruit, wine and local cheese in the fridge and well stocked cupboards were welcoming touches, which we all enjoyed.
    The detailed directions to Casa Joaquina were daunting .The reality was that we arrived without the stress of getting lost (always a bonus for those of us who are geographically challenged).
    An orientation tour of the city saved us lots of time and frustration. Your kindness by providing tram tickets and directions immediately steered is in the right direction. The local family restaurant was a bonus. It is rare to connect with local people in their family environment and feel welcome. Mama treated us to her special chocolate mousse and we sampled home made olive oil-delicious! ... We wish you every success and thank you for making our stay in Lisbon so memorable. We will recommend Casa Joaquina to other travellers without hesitation. May you and your family have a happy Christmas, a safe and prosperous New Year. Best wishes
    Sandy & Jim
    Australia

    11/02/05 (Casa Joaquina) Deb & Jord - What more can we say apart from repeating ourselves how much we appreciate being here and knowing you. Melbourne awaits you!
    Nik & John
    Australia

    11/01/05 (Casa Santana) Un tres jolie appartement, un super accueil, un grande merci pour tout a, une bonne adresse conseiller.
    Vronique
    France

    11/01/05 (Casa Travessa) Lisbon was perfect apart from the rain but it did not stop us from exploring this wonderful city. Location of the apartment is perfect for stepping out into the Rossio. This is everything that you claim. Thanks for your help and advice.
    Yvonne & Chris
    Rickmansworth UK

    10/28/05 (Casa Santana) Fantastic location and views. Bought travel cards and still walked the city! Great place and atmosphere. We'll be back to visit Sintra. Thanks for the intro and such a well equiped apartment. It removed all the usual hassles. Well done Deb. Best wishes.
    Mike, Jane, Adam & James
    UK

    10/16/05 (Casa Joaquina) Deb - Thank you for everything, it was perfect from start to finish. You made it so easy for us. We have been continually lost in Europe but your directions to Casa Joaquina were great. We have loved our apartment, it is so spacious and all the comforts of home -- loved the computer. We loved being so central, the public transport, and eating in the local restaurants was a hoot -- they were so welcoming and the food great. You have thought of everything and have made our stay in Lisboa very memorable. We will be recommending this to our friends.
    Sandy/Jim & Bill/Helen
    Sydney & Canberra, Australia

    10/15/05 Casa Travessa was a ideal place to stay during our Lisbon adventure. We had lovely few days and thanks for the useful book and ideas of things to do!
    Kniesel Family
    Bonn, Germany

    10/14/05 (Casa Santana) We've had a great week here in Lisboa! Although it's a big city, we still found plenty to entertain our two children. The oceanarium and the zoo was amazing! But what made the week perfect was this beautiful apartment. It made us feel very much at home -- it really has been a "home away from home." We feel a little sad to leave this friendly city, but take comfort in the fact that we will definitely be back! Last, but not least, we would like to say thank you to Deb; for having thought of every little detail to make us feel at home here and for helping us with the little and bigger issues throughout the week.
    Best wishes from Linda, Jon-Rune, Rebecca (12) and Erik (1)
    Evesund, Norway

    10/10/05 (Casa Joaquina) - Thanks for a lovely stay in Casa Joaquina. Very nice house in a great location. Deb provided us with usefull information when we arrived. We had a great time in Lisbon. We will recommend Casa Joaquina to others.
    Morten & Family
    Oslo, Norway

    10/10/05 (Casa Travessa) What a great apartment and the location is excellent. Although we are former residents of Lisboa returning to see friends and "matar saudades", Deb was so helpful and the apartment has good info, guides, etc. We will recommend it to our friends.
    Janet & Tom Macan
    British Virgin Islands

    10/03/05 (Casa Travessa) A pleasant haven during a busy conference! Thank you.
    Gill Lawrence
    UK

    10/02/05 (Casa Joaquina) We have spent some lovely days in Casa Joaquina -- and this flat and your city have everything. Leaving Norway-- already quite cold, to feel the good temperature here -- we've enjoyed the sight-seeing, the wine, the food and the people. Thank you Lissabon!
    Tone, Vidgis, Merete, Ella, Marit
    Norway

    09/20/05 (Casa Travessa) We had a wonderful time in Lisboa thanks to this apartment and its location and the hospitality of Debra and her explanations that helped us to get everywhere. We enjoyed our staying. "We will come back," as General McArthur said.
    J and R Neeman
    Tel Aviv, Israel

    09/13/05 (Casa Santana) Like those before, a great way to complete an already dream vacation. Outstanding view and as they say in California, location, location, location! We saw so much in only two days because of your advice... thank you for all you did to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Dinner at Buenos Aires was so romantic and the weather perfect. We are so glad we made it to this beautiful city -- Thanks so much.
    Bobbi & Dennis Brown
    Hermosa Beach, CA, USA

    09/10/05 (Casa Joaquina) We enjoyed the house, especially sitting on the roof in the evenings. Thank you for the warm welcome late in the evening. A wonderful week!
    Pat & Lawrence Edgar
    UK

    09/09/05 Casa Travessa was the ideal place to stay during our Lisbon adventure. The apartment couldn't be more charming -- the location is perfect and the view is spectacular. Four of us stayed here quite comfortably and all your thoughtful gestures made this a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Your food recomendations were particularly good: Caf Buenos Aires, Bom Jardin and Everest. And it was so sweet of Jordan to stop by and let us know about Marisa singing at the Belm Tower. What a great introduction to Lisboa. We hope to come back and take more advantage of the shopping, the gelatos and your hospitality -- maybe even Casa Joaquina.
    Amy, Jenny, Liza, Marnie
    New York City, USA

    09/08/05 (Casa Santana) Deb, Thanks for the lovely apartment, your hospitality and wonderful tips. We had a great time at the local cafe and Buenos Aires that you recommended. Also took the trip out to Sintra which was fantastic, so managed to do a lot in a short stay. Lots of love.
    Kath, Letitia and Matt
    Brisbane, Australia

    08/31/05 (Casa Travessa) We just got back from a Nepalese restaurant down the street. What a great treat!! The food was excellent!! Thank you for your recommendation, Deb!!

    We spent wonderful and relaxing days here at this apartment. Very cozy room with a great view! We'd love to come back in a few years when our son is born -- currently I'm 6 months pregnant. Wonderful to see your care and thoughts toward travelling with children throughout the house such as games. Thank you so much for making our trip special.
    Kevin & Aoi
    USA

    08/29/05 (Casa Santana) Had a great time, lovely apartment, beautiful weather, would love to come back for longer sometime. Food at Resto (Rua Costa do Castelo 7) was great and service fantastic. Catch the show there if you can. We saw Cabaret Vivo by chance and it was outstanding. Thanks.
    Michelle
    UK

    08/28/05 Casa Travessa c'est le charme d'un duplex au coeur du vieux Lisbonne, ou vous dormez bien parce que te calme est profond, ou vous avez tout le confort sonhait, ou chaque dtail vous rappelle que vos htes aiment beaucoup ce pays.

    Merci Deb et Jordan de nous avoir initis Lisbonne avec autant d'attention.
    Philippe,Gabrielle,Adrien,Marie
    Grenoble, France

    08/27/05 (Casa Joaquina) I'd recommend Lisbon and Casa Joaquina to anyone. The city is accessible, open and friendly. Everyone is out walking up and down the avenidas into the late evening. The city is alive! The apartment is in a perfect location and couldn't be more comfortable. We thank our hosts for a lovely stay in Lisbon.

    REFERENCE: Deb, please do not hesitate to use us for a reference. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Casa Joaquina to any family. I know that booking a rental on line can be stressful. You send money to people you dont know in a foreign country and hope for the best. Thanks again for a wonderful stay. Would love to return some day. (For contact details, please email deb-at-VisitingPortugal-dot-com.)
    The Moss Family
    USA

    08/10/05 (Casa Travessa) We had a wonderful stay in Casa Travessa, so close to the heart of the city and yet far away from the noisy restlessness one encounters there. The apartment is great: cozy, comfortable -- ample space for the four of us. And Lisbon? Charming, impressive. Also different from the last time in '93: more prosperous, more European -- whatever that might stand for. Thanks for your hospitality.
    Roderik, Noele, Vita & Abel
    Amsterdam, Holland

    08/02/05 (Casa Santana) Dear Deb - Thank you for this wonderful time in Lissabon! We will tell our friends in Denmark about you and this apartment!! Thank you. :)
    Lise, Rasnus,Jens & Pia Elle
    Denmark

    07/24/05 (Casa Joaquina) Dear Jordan and Deb - You have a beautfiul place and the both of you are wonderful host and hostess. We had a fabulous time. Grilled sardines, 75 cent wine, Ginginha, mustn't forget that. The first few days were quite rough, walking up the street but we all adjusted. Every time we went out, it was an adventure, a totally new trip. Alfama to Belm, from Baixa to Sintra to the Tejo. And we only chipped at the surface. Every day was different from every nite. You've got a great place. I can't believe I actually drove here from the Algarve and found CJ in the first drive into the city. Have a great rest of year! Kevin

    Elizabeth Skovron - Casa Joaquina was a great experience. I had SOO much fun! Walking up and down the hill was a handful but it was worth every minute. I never want to leave!
    Skovron Family
    New York, USA

    07/16/05 (Casa Santana) Lisbon is stunning and the apartment is fantastic -- it couldn't be in a better location! We've had a brilliant time and managed to do so much in just 3 days, thanks to an excellent public transport system and really helpful staff at the tourism information office. We'll definitely be back to this beautiful city.
    Liza and Rob Webb
    Glasgow, Scotland

    07/11/05 (Casa Travessa) Deb, you could not have been more helpful. With your advice we saw every hill in Lisbon. The climbing helped my toning but the good dining spots in your book raised my weight. Thank you.
    Lynda & Chuck Robb
    Virginia, USA

    07/06/05 (Casa Joaquina) What a wonderful spot for a family vacation! Casa Jo provided the perfectly appointed vantage to explore the vistas and alleys of this enchanting city. Thank you!
    The Kamenetzs (& Adam)
    New Orleans & New York

    07/06/05 (Casa Santana) We had a wonderful time, Lisboa is just lovely. "Our apartment" made us feel very much at home. The weather was perfect and the food outstanding! We took several trips/tours -- LisbonInside Tours were excellent! We left two fliers in your basket on the table -- we would recommend them highly. Pedro and Hugo were wonderful guides, we went to bidos, Ftima, Sintra and Cascais as well as around Lisboa. We enjoyed your CDs, too... Lisboa is a very friendly, welcoming city and easy to get around. Your help was great. We will definitely be back -- more to see. Thank you! PS -- Outstanding meal and service at Botequim do Rei restaurant, Parque Edwardo VII. Try it.
    Kim & Eliana Kimball & family

    07/05/05 Casa Travessa is the perfect way to spend a holiday in Lisbon. A real feeling of cultural immersion was felt by all. From the pasteis de Belm to the Ginjinha in the Rossio, everything we tried and everywhere we went, we had a wonderful time.

    For a quiet beer, the little "pub" around the corner ("O Lanternim") was perfect. Also, for a real treat, ask for Nuno Cunha at the Churrasquiero Santiago.

    Thanks again for an absolutely amazing stay.
    Andr, Lucas, Christian
    New England, USA

    07/01/05 (Casa Santana) Thank you, Deb. Wonderful apartment in a lovely city! --Sven

    Thank you for a lovely apartment. Venil, 12 years

    Thank you so much for a lovely place, and a really nice city! I have really enjoyed staying here, and I feel like I have seen whole Lisbon in 4 days. Lovely weather, Cascais and Estoril are beautiful beaches/towns. Belm was interesting and so were the trams! Great food, Fado and everything. I'm already planning to go back. :) Thank you, thank you! Kama, 17 years old
    Sven Buggeland & Family
    Oslo, Norway

    06/26/05 (Casa Travessa) We had a wonderful working session in your apartments and found them very pleasant and flawless. You seem to have thought of everything one might need for a great stay in an amazing town. We'll recommend you. Thanks a lot for everything!
    Dr Stephens & Friends
    Lisboa/Germany

    06/26/05 Casa Joaquina has been a wonderful base for our Lisbon trip! Lisboa is stunning -- between the amazing vistas, charming neighborhoods (especially Restauradores and Alfama) and the dramatic fado clubs, we couldn't have asked for anything more. Thanks!
    The Jaworskis
    Chicago, IL, USA

    06/20/05 "Casa Jo" has provided a wonderful interlude. We will always remember breakfast on the rooftop. Thank you for all of the thoughtful attention to every detail.
    The Hancocks
    Brisbane, Australia

    06/13/05 (Casa Joaquina) Lisbon has been a revelation -- wonderful, quiet -- food great. Accommodation wonderful. We'll be back!
    Tom, Denise, Bruce, Carol
    UK

    06/01/05 (Casa Santana) Dear Deb - Thank you very much for your hospitality! We had a good time in your beautiful city.
    Drs Satanowsky & Kapp
    Germany & Australia

    05/28/05 (Casa Santana) Thank you, Deb, a really wonderful apartment -- so well equipped and a view to die for.
    Gill & Rick Croft
    Australia

    05/20/05 Lovely house. Everything you need for a comfortable stay. Central to downtown Lisbon. Friendly and helpful owner Deb Kleber. Would definitely return.
    dan sequerra
    Sheffield UK (dansequerra@onetel.com)

    05/11/05 (Casa Travessa) Found Casa Travessa an excellent home away from home. Everything I needed was here and gave me a chance to revive before going on with travelling. Very central, private, an ideal choice for anyone considering a trip to Lisbon.
    Susan Pryor
    Hamilton, New Zealand

    05/09/05 (Casa Joaquina) Thank you, obrigada, merci, mille grazie, danke -- Your lovely place made for a great visit to a wonderful town. We four old timers will never forget you and your graciousness. ps-Great wine!
    Dee, Virginia, Mary
    USA

    05/06/05 (Casa Travessa) Thanks for a lovely few days in this lovely apartment -- what a great location! We were particularly impressed with the view and the thoughtful details - CDs, fluffy towels, comfy beds and the REALLY useful book of ideas of things to do. We had a not very busy few days with our 2.5 year old boy recovering from a Portuguese wedding! Hopefully we will come back and see a bit more of Lisbon sometime soon.
    Fiona, Dave and Benjamin Hart
    Wimbledon, London

    ** All comments prior to May 2005 are for Casa Joaquina **

    04/30/05 We have enjoyed Lisbon with every breath and Casa Joaquina was an excellent base from which to explore this romantic and diverse city! We had a PERFECT wedding, a day we truly will remember the rest of our lives. The personal and comfortable feeling of this stay is much due to Casa Joaquina, MUCH better than any luxury hotel.
    Renate, Eric and family
    Norway

    03/05/05 Great little place to stay, a very comfortable home. Great time in Lisbon. Obrigado!
    Ellie Bunker
    Miami, FL

    03/05/05 We had an enjoyable week here in Lisbon and the best part was the comfort of this house! A cellphone, a computer, well-stocked kitchen -- what more could we ask for? Plus it's a great location! One caveat: the hop on & off tour bus was not so great and it was high. Stick with the cable cars.
    Jan & John Hoover
    Amsterdam, Netherlands

    02/24/05 Many thanks for sharing CasaJo and Portugal with us. It was great to feel so much a part of the city and the neighborhood. The place is fantastic... any chance of a CasaJo in Paris, Zurich, Rome, etc?!
    The Wollins
    New York

    12/26/04 It's a shame, as we are getting used to the beautiful laid back country, we have to rush back to the hustle-bustle of London. We all enjoyed our stay in Casa Joaquina -- JUST LIKE (A COMFORTABLE) HOME FROM HOME!! Thank you.
    Tippu, Rubina and family
    United Kingdom

    10/18/04 Great city, great location, great accomodation. That together with friendly welcome made for a fantastic stay in Lisbon. Thanx.
    Paul & Dawn
    UK

    06/12/04 What a wonderful city and what a beautiful home! Our stay was fantastic and the house was perfect for the babies! Now its off to the beach and then back to Seattle. Many thanks for your hospitality and may Casa Joaquina bring joy to many others - perhaps us again in the future! Joe, Susan and Mike; Heather, Pat and Alice.
    Hubers
    Seattle, WA

    05/29/04 Obrigado means so much more to us than "thank you" now; UNFORGETTABLE is more like it! Thanks so much for providing us with such a beautiful base to follow in the footsteps of Atwood and Cames! p.s. Hope tram has been repaired by the time we come back. :)
    Nilda
    New York

    05/22/04 Our enjoyment of Lisboa was thoroughly enhanced by our stay at Casa Joaquina. Thank you for helping us enjoy our stay here and find our way around.
    Maria, Vinitho, Lori
    Chicago, IL, USA

    05/19/04 ... We have fallen in love with the towels...
    M.I.
    Chicago, IL, USA

    04/13/04 We came to experience "April in Portugal" and are delighted at how we found it -- simply beautiful. Casa Joaquina is a wonderful base from which to head out and return each evening -- oh so comfortable.
    Joan & Andy Hegedus
    Australia

    04/09/04 Sent : Friday, April 9, 2004 4:38 AM
    Subject : Life at Casa Joaquina
    Hi Deb, Just a quick note to let you know that we are very much enjoying our week here. The cottage is delightful and very comfortable. Thankyou for your and Austin's thoughtfulness. Amalia Rodrigues is singing as I type.

    Each day we have been having our breakfast up on the rooftop terrace enjoying the view. Today, although a little chilly was particularly pleasant because, being Good Friday, it is so quiet - the silence only being broken by the church bells.

    Every day we marvel at life in Portugal in April. They days have been superb. We are enjoying our ventures to Belem, Cascais, the Expo 98 site outside Oriente metro station. We visited the little church in Rua Sant' Ana. The 188 steps up to the house are making us very fit. We have only travelled the funiclar once.

    And we've still got three and half days to go! We've plans for the Alfama market tomorrow and Sintra on Sunday. All the very best.
    Joan and Andy

    04/05/04 This city by the water reminds us of our own, San Francisco. We love the neighborhood, vistas, food and Casa Joaquina. A perfect retreat in an exciting city. Many thanks for making it feel like home!
    Gina Cerr
    San Francisco

    03/21/04 Dear Deb & Austin -- Thank you for a great stay, and for your very clear instructions! We had a most enjoyable time and look forward to coming back. All the best,
    Margaret Atwood
    Canada

    03/20/04 Mille grazie, obrigado, thank you. We love Lisbon. The people -- including YOU -- are special.
    Frances & Ed Mayes
    Bramasole,Italy/SanFran,USA

    02/23/04 In all our travels... we've never seen a... casa so comfy... as Joaquina. (You thought of everything. We had a great time in Lisboa. Obrigado!)
    Valerie Martin & John Cullen
    New York

    02/16/04 Thank you for a wonderful visit - we had a terrific time following the footsteps of Fernando Pessoa.
    Margaret Atwood & Graeme Gibson
    Canada

    01/03/04 Thanks for everything!
    The Hazers
    Indiana, USA

    Back to Top of Page

Press Clippings Trip Planning BLOG VisitingPortugal on Google+ VisitingPortugal on Facebook About Us & Contacts BOOK NOW
Guest Reviews Lisbon Intro & Maps Frequently Asked
Questions
Private Fado Tours
---
Cooking Classes
Bring the Kids! Lisbon
Conference Centers
Back to Top of Page
Return to Home Page
WorldPay Credit Card Processing Visa Credit Card MasterCard Credit Card Laser Credit Card Visa-Delta Credit Card
Image 2003 M. Achterman